Lovers Lane
ATT Internet 75

Local Record Reviews

| April 1, 2009

Conveniens is a drum-and-keyboard duo that worked in the 1980s and is currently reissuing its catalog. Clear was its third and final album and is filled with Conveniens’ trademark new age/space/jazz vibe. Funny thing is, the stranger the group gets, the more interesting it is. This is not pop music by any means, but is quite listenable, nonetheless. (
– Mike O’Cull

With infectiously lush, wide-screen arrangements that prominently feature tingling vocal interplay between Russell Baylin and Sarah Snow, My My My turns out gorgeously winsome pop confections. Every winding turn through its convoluted arrangements reveals memorable pop magic. Cool, breezy guitar, shimmering cymbals, and keys ricochet through the schizophrenic melody of “Palisades,” and an effervescent guitar lifts the airy “Uh, Wow.” (
– Patrick Conlan

A nostalgic throwback to classic heavy metal with some added progressive modern touches, The Crossing offers energetic, guitar-driven rock on its self-titled EP. The snappy, crunchy riffs and burning, distorted leads propel the boisterous, throbbing “Rebellion.” The Crossing gets sidetracked with the slightly spruced-up, but essentially faithful cover of Frankie Goes To Hollywood’s “Relax,” a throwaway track that sounds uninspired alongside the molten, scuzzy fervor of “Genie.” (
– Patrick Conlan

Driving Forward wants to be a big, muscular hard rock band but hardly bothers flexing on Dissolve Your Resistance. Frontman/guitarist Jesse Naul’s proggy riffs on “Up The Spine” and “Buy Sell Trade” have the horsepower, but are often buried under the unusually loud drums and his own vocals. Naul is a solid singer, but hardly spectacular, and this album would benefit from shining more spotlight on his other instrument. (
– Trevor Fisher

Despite an obnoxious promo photo, The Glide impresses with a self-titled four-song CD of pulsating dance music. The split acoustic/electronic arrangement on “Noth-ing To Hide” doesn’t work, but the remaining tracks are tailored to the club scene. The bottom-heavy “In Flames” is particularly fun, and it showcases how The Glide’s synth beats and expressive vocals recall New Order. (
– Terrence Flamm


The spirited country rock on The Jennifer Jennings Band‘s debut, All The Pieces, gets a boost from the lead singer’s ability to create funny lyrics that ring true. “Not That Way” depicts an addiction to one-night stands, and on “Family Reunion,” a gal dumps her beau for his unruly brother. The irresistible love song “I’ve Got A Feeling” is a genuine contender to top the country charts. (
– Terrence Flamm

A beautiful blend of folk and lighthearted pop mingle gracefully on Lucy Kaplansky’s Over The Hills (Red House). She illuminates summer memories with imaginative, joyful reminiscence in the delightful “Swimming Song” and provides an admirable performance with a respectable cover of “Ring Of Fire.” Sweet pedal steel and crisp electric mandolin swirl together as she pays displays her abundant musical gifts in the tender closer, “The Gift.” (
– Parick Conlan

Singer-songwriter Brian McDermott is rootsy, melodic, and interesting on his debut, Deep. His laid-back vocal style complements his lyrics and encourages the listener to lean in to hear what’s coming next. The production is minimal and simple, but it works, and McDermott is better than most of the acoustic types floating around. (
– Mike O’Cull

Ready The Destroyer teeters on the edge of angular, dissonant indie rock, but never trips over the precipice on Into The Night. Guitarist/singer Neil Miller always snaps the sweetness into place. He slides his sparkling guitar in “Lifeline” through a simple chord progression during the verses before unleashing a cathartic release in the chorus. The chunky rhythm and elliptical phrasing in the shimmering “Stalemate” snags your ear with a relentlessly catchy hook. (
– Patrick Conlan

Guitarist Matt Hudson leads Scientific Map through an adventurous collection of songs that deftly combine jazz fusion and techno on the band’s debut, Power To The Babies. Most of these tracks are instrumental, and even the vocals on the haunting “Merlin’s Bride” and futuristic “Carpenters In Forehead” flow through the arrangements as opposed to leading them. Likewise Hudson’s guitar playing (most prominent on “Port De Patois”) melds perfectly with the talents of others musicians. (
– Terrence Flamm

Rousing, irreverent, and eminently enjoyable, The Statues Of Liberty throws down classic power rock teeming with an earnest patriotism and imaginative critique befitting its name. “Barack And Roll” is a witty, satirical cut-up on last election’s presidential candidates that clangs against some uncomfortable truths, while the poppy hooks of “Crucify A Brother” leaven the biting social commentary. America Still Kicks Ass isn’t a cynical lament, but rather a spirited rallying cry. (
– Patrick Conlan

PAGE [1] [2]

Category: Around Hear, Monthly

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.