Lovers Lane
Copernicus Center

Photo Gallery: Kerry King at Reggies • Chicago

| May 9, 2024

Kerry King

Tuesday, May 7, 2024
Chicago, IL
Recap and photos by Edward Spinelli

Legendary Slayer guitarist Kerry King is likely one of the few artists to play Reggie’s, who parked an 18-wheeler behind the club. Mr. King and his band’s 17-song setlist debuted eleven new tracks from King’s upcoming debut solo album, From Hell I Rise (due in stores on May 17). King did a nice job of placing six Slayer tracks throughout the setlist that blended perfectly with his new material.

When King let it be known that he was “working on a killer band” or this tour, he was not kidding. He created a supergroup that includes half of Slayer. Still at King’s side and behind the drums, Paul Bostaph (Slayer), bassist Kyle Sanders (HellYeah), guitarist Phil Demmel (formerly of Machine Head), and Mark Osegueda (Death Angel) on vocals.

The line outside of Reggies started forming at 10 a.m., and by the time the doors opened, it was a couple blocks long. The show was an easy sell-out, with 450 lucky fans in attendance for an incredibly rare intimate show. There wasn’t enough room to open any significant-sized mosh pits, but during Slayer songs, the boys gave it their best. The show was packed, dark, and extremely loud, everything one could ask for at a special show like this.


  1. Where I Reign (live debut)
    02. Toxic (live debut)
    03. Rage (live debut)
    04. Repentless (SLAYER song)
    05. Two Fists (live debut)
    06. Residue (live debut)
    07. Hate Worldwide (SLAYER song)
    08. Idle Hands (live debut)
    09. Trophies Of The Tyrant (live debut)
    10. Chemical Warfare (SLAYER song)
    11. Everything I Hate About You (live debut)
    12. Disciple (SLAYER song)
    13. Shrapnel (live debut)
    14. Crucifixation (live debut)
    15. Raining Blood (SLAYER song)
    16. Black Magic (SLAYER song)
    17. From Hell I Rise (live debut)

Tags: , ,

Category: IE Photo Gallery

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.